Hosted by IDTechEx
Off Grid Energy Independence
Posted on March 2, 2012 by  & 

Michael Gratzel wins Albert Einstein World Award of Science

A substantial validation of the power of Dye Solar Cell (DSC) technology to significantly impact the world's renewable energy supply has come from the World Cultural Council as it awards the father of the dye solar cell (DSC), Professor Michael Grätzel, the prestigious 2012 ALBERT EINSTEIN World Award of Science for his outstanding achievements in inventing and developing the Grätzel Cell, the Dye-sensitised Solar Cell (DSC), that is regarded by many as the single most important breakthrough in the development of sustainable energy.
The Interdisciplinary Committee of the World Cultural Council has selected Professor Grätzel, Director of the Laboratory of Photonics and Interfaces at Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL) in Switzerland, because of DSC's capability to significantly increase the spread of sustainable, renewable energy throughout the world and make a major impact in renewable energy distribution across the globe.
"Today, Dyesol is at the cutting edge in the photovoltaic industry as the leading global supplier of DSC materials, technology and know-how to multinational manufacturing partners and researchers across the globe. Our DSC photovoltaic technology enables metal, glass and polymeric based products in the building, transport and electronics sectors to generate energy and to improve energy efficiency. These are exciting times for the company." Dyesol Director, Mr. Gordon Thompson said.
The 29th World Cultural Council Award Ceremony will be held in Denmark on the 18th of April 2012. The World Cultural Council is an international organization, based in Mexico, whose objectives are to promote culture, values and goodwill throughout the world. The "Albert Einstein World Award of Science" and the "José Vasconcelos World Award of Education" and the "Leonardo da Vinci World Award of Arts" are one means to this end. These awards honour outstanding personalities whose work has had a significantly positive impact on the cultural legacy of mankind. The members of the Council include several Nobel laureates.
Source: Dysol
Top image of Michael Gratzel: EPFL
More IDTechEx Journals